A Positive Ending To A Negative Week

All was quiet on the western front today, with no children in the house and no going to houses where children reside.  Sean and Katie can handle the boys over the weekend, so I spent the day relaxing.

We finally got our Christmas decorations safely ensconced back in the attic.  We took the tree down last weekend and put the decorations in their festive red and green tubs, but then Bud got sick and there’s no way I can get them back up those steps by myself.  So, they have been sitting and waiting for life to settle down.  Done and done.

Joy of joys, my food storage order arrived from honeyvillegrain.com.  It came way quicker than I had expected; I’m chalking that up to the economy and UPS probably not being very busy after Christmas.

Anyway, I now have powdered eggs, cheese, milk, and butter to augment what storage I already had.  And best of all, the cherry hot cocoa arrived too.  I had to open a pouch right away to taste it.  I figured if it didn’t measure up I could give it to my children and come across as a beneficent mother concerned about their longterm well-being, not a fussy hot chocolate gourmet who was giving them the rejects. 

Well, they are out of luck.  It is really good, and Bud and I have each had two cups already.  I am still giving our offspirng a couple pouches each anyway, since I ordered enough to share.  (It is still available on their website at $2.89 for a 24-serving pouch, plus $4.49 shipping no matter how much you order from the site.)  It may be a luxury for food storage, but it is cheaper than buying Swiss Miss in the grocery store for those who are going to drink hot chocolate anyway.

I need mini marshmallows for storage now.

Leave a comment